Daring Bakers Challenge- Croissants!

When I first heard about this challenge, I got very excited! I have always loved the fluffy, buttery, airy goodness of a good croissant. As a result of that, I have wanted to make croissants for a while. It seemed so convenient that it just came up as the September challenge for the Daring Bakers.

Unfortunately.. I don’t have a whole lot of time these days. Being recently married, going to school full-time, and working full-time, I only have one full day off.  Those are usually spent catching up with my or my husband’s family.  So needless to say, this recipe was very hard to fit into my schedule. I tried hard though, let me tell you!

As soon as I got off work on Saturday, I went straight to the kitchen, cleaned up, and got to work. The recipe is complicated, with some three or four rising times, incorporating butter, and everything. That combined with my dough stubbornly staying flat, and not rising, these croissants did not turn out well. They were so pitiful, I didn’t even want to take a picture of them. They tasted fine, but the texture was thick and dull. You can say, after my day dreaming about my beautiful croissants all month, I was disappointed.

When I have time, maybe during the semester break this December, I will try this again, and I will get it right. They may have won this battle, but I will win the war! Mwahaha! 😉 I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

